Number 8 – Learn to Salsa cont.

Now in my second week of dance classes, I have learned a few things:

First – three moves of a salsa routine, not in succession but at key points when we are all facing the mirror. This is the single most important time to get the moves right. Most of the time I can bounce and turn any way as long as it’s in time to the music, and no-one is any the wiser (including and especially myself).

Second – I can blame part of my difficulty in learning a dance routine on my lack of any sense of direction. My inability to differentiate left from right, without simulating a writing motion, is a hinderance to the split-second timing it requires to put the correct foot forward or behind (which I forget in all the confusion). This motion can often be incorporated into the routine itself, however, I have no sooner worked out which foot goes where, under the basic direction of left, than the instructor switches it to right. It’s not so bad — I am in a class for beginners, although I do believe there should, perhaps, be a remedial class for those of us with little co-ordination. I am not the only one, but we are a minority.

Third – I will never learn to jive. This became apparent after fifteen minutes when, what took two minutes to do in real time, when put to music, was reduced to only two bars.

Fourth – Contemporary is the most forgiving of dance styles and I can almost bluff my way through this one as long as I get the drop-and-roll right.

Fifth – What you thought you could hide becomes glaringly obvious when the class is divided in two, and half becomes the audience.

3 Comments

  1. frank hampster

    Awesome. I look forward til your next post. Not long to go now.

  2. Hi, I found your blog because I am a fellow contributor on Mother’s Group Magazine. Did you turn 40 yet? Your posts look fun 🙂

    • Hi Michelle, yeah I have turned forty but I’m continuing with the list – as soon as I find a suitable preposition to replace ‘before’ and less wordy than ‘and now that I am already’.

Leave a Reply

